Ministry of Coal

New Coal Mines

Posted On: 29 NOV 2021 3:14PM by PIB Delhi

Total of 77 coal mines in the country have got Mine Opening Permission from FY 2018-19 onwards. Statewise bifurcation of these mines is as below:

S.No	Name of State	Number of mines
1	Jharkhand	23
2	Chhattisgarh	12
3	Odisha	8
4	West Bengal	14
5	Telangana	12
6	Maharashtra	5
7	Karnataka	1
8	Madhya Pradesh	2
Tota		77

Out of above 77 coal mines, 11 coal mines have been allocated for captive Power End Use. Further, Coal produced from other coal mines is also being utilized for generation of power through Thermal Power Plants (TPP) including Captive Power Plants (CPP) thereby contributing to domestic electrification.

This information was given by the Union Minister of Coal, Mines and Parliamentary Affairs Shri Pralhad Joshi in a written reply in RajyaSabha today.

MV/RKP

(Release ID: 1776112)