Updated status of coal/lignite blocks allocated during 1993-2011 through earlier dispensations under Coal Mines (Nationalisation) Act, 1973

During the period 1993 to 2011, Ministry of Coal, Government of India allocated 218 coal blocks under the provisions of Coal Mines (Nationalisation) Act, 1973 through the Screening Committee and Government Dispensation route to the then erstwhile eligible Central/ State Government PSUs and private companies for specified end use projects, i.e. power, steel and cement, as well as for commercial mining by PSUs. Allocation of the said 218 coal blocks was challenged before the Hon'ble Supreme Court in W.P. (Crl.) No.120/2012 and other connected cases. In the said writ petitions/PILs, Hon'ble Supreme Court pronounced its judgement dated 25.08.2014 and order dated 24.09.2014 declaring all allocations of the coal blocks made through Screening Committee and through Government Dispensation route since 1993 as arbitrary & illegal and has cancelled the allocation of 204 coal blocks out of 218 coal blocks (i.e. except Tasra coal block allocated to Steel Authority of India Ltd. and Pakri Barwadih coal block allocated to National Thermal Power Corporation and 12 coal blocks allocated for Ultra Mega Power Projects).

Further, Ministry of Coal during 2015 has de-allocated 04 more coal blocks allocated for UMPPs. Out of these 04 coal blocks, one coal block, namely, Chhatrasal was de-allocated as the reserves of this block were in excess of the coal requirement of Sasan UMPP. The remaining three coal blocks namely, Meenakshi, Meenakshi B and Dipside of Meenakshi were de-allocated since Ministry of Power had requested to transfer the allocation of these blocks to allocattee's another subisidiary not having the end use plant, which was not in conformity with the provisions of the Coal Mines (Nationalisation) Act, 1973 under which the said blocks were allocated.

S.No	Name of Allocatee and State	Name of Coal Block	Date of
			allocation
1.	Sasan Power Ltd. (Madhya	Moher	13.09.2006
	Pradesh)		
2.	-do-	Moher-Amlori Extn	13.09.2006
3.	Jharkhand Integrated Power Ltd.	Kerandari BC	20.07.2007
	(Jharkhand)		
4.	Chhattisgarh Surguja	Pindrakhi	09.09.2009
	(Chhattisgarh)		
5.	-do-	Puta Parogia	09.09.2009

As such, as on date 10 coal blocks stand allocated. The State-wise details of companies to whom these 10 coal blocks stand allocated are given below:-

6.	Sakhigopal Integrated Power Ltd.	Bankhui	21.06.2010
0.	(Odisha)		
7	MAHAGENCO (Maharashtra)	Bhivkund	17.07.2008
8.	JSEB (Jharkhand	Mourya	26.06.2009
9.	NTPC (Jharkhand)	Pakri Bharwadih	11.10.2004
10.	SAIL (Jharkhand)	Tasra	26.02.1996

For management and reallocation of 204 cancelled coal blocks, 'the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015' has been enacted on 30.03.2015 to ensure smooth transfer of rights, title and interest in the mines along with its land and other associated mining infrastructure to the new allottees to be selected through an auction or allotment to Government company, as the case may be. Furthermore, the allocation of coal/lignite blocks other than the 204 cancelled by the Hon'ble Supreme Court, is being made under the provisions of The Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Amendment Act, 2010 and Rules framed thereunder.

Similarly, Ministry of Coal have allocated a total of 29 lignite blocks to various public and private sector companies under the Coal Mines (Nationalisation) Act, 1973. Out of the 29 allocated lignite blocks, 08 lignite blocks have been de-allocated. The list of 29 lignite coal blocks along with the status is at Annexure.

ANNEXURE

Details of allocated Lignite Blocks allocated:

SI. No.	Name of the Allocatee Company	Date of Allocation/ Screening Committee, if any	Name of the lignite block allocated	State	End-use	Whether allocation under Screening Committee/ Govt. dispensation
1.	RSMML	NA	Giral	Rajasthan	Commercial	
2.	RSMML	06-09-2004	Sonari	Do	Power	
3.	RSMML	13-11-2006	Kapurdhi	Do	Power	
4.	RSMML	13-11-2006	Jalipa	Do	Power	
5.	RSMML	13-11-2006	Sacchasauda	Do	Power	Govt.
6.	RSMML	13-11-2006	Shivkar-Kurla	Do	Power	dispensation
7.	RSMML	01-07-2005	Gurha West	Do	Power	route
8.	RSMML	14.07.2003	Mokhala (De-allocated on 12.12.2013)	Do	Other	route
9.	RSMML	25-7-2001 (16 th Screening Committee)	Matasukh	Do	Commercial	
9(a)	RSMML	25-7-2001 (16 th Screening Committee)	Kasnau-Igiya	Do	Commercial	Allocation for captive purpose through
10.	Marudhar Power Private Limited (Now V.S Lignite Ltd.)	01-07-2005 (27 th Screening Committee)	Gurha East	Do	Power	screening committee route
11.	Marudhar Power Private Limited (Now V.S Lignite Ltd.)	07-02-2007 (31 st Screening Committee)	Lunsara (De-allocated in 28.06.2011)	Do	Power	
12.	Indure Private Ltd.	,	Mandalcharan (De-allocated on 02.06.2016)	Do	Power	

13.	NSL		Merta Road	Do	Power	
	Power &					
ļ	Infotech		(De-allocated on			
	Ltd.		08.11.2013)			
14.	Nandalal		Indawar	Do	Power	
	Enterpris		(De-allocated on			
	es Ltd.		02.06.2016)		×	-
15.	DCM Shri		Kaprion ki Dhani	Do	Power	
	Ram Ltd.					
			(De-allocated on			
			29.04.2016)			
16.	Binani		Nimbri-	Do	Power	
	Cement		Chandavadan			
	Ltd.		(De-allocated on			
			02.06.2016)			
17.	GMDC	NA	Panandhro	Gujarat	Power &	
					other	_
18.	GMDC	NA	Rajpardi*	Do	Other	
19.	GMDC	11-03-2001	Rajpardi G-19	Do	Other	Government
			Extn.			dispensation
20.	GMDC	30-03-2003	Mata-na-mandh	Do	Other	-
21.	GMDC	11-03-2001	Tadkeswar	Do	Other	
22.	GMDC	NA	Akrimota	Do	Other .	_
23.	GPCL	06-09-2005	Khadsaliya – II	Do	Other	
		(28 th				
		Screening				
		Committee)				-
24.	GPCL	06-09-2005	Surka-III	Do	Other	
		(28 th				
		Screening				
		Committee)				
25.	GHCL	27-7-2000	Kharsaliya – I	Do	Other/	Allocation for
			(Allapar)		Power	captive
26.	TIPACO	04-06-1992	South of Vellar	Puduchery	Power	purpose
		,	(De-allocated on			through
			25-05-2010)			screening
27.	GIPCL	15-12-1995	Vastan	Gujarat	Power	committee
28.	GMDC	05.12.2001	Surkha (North)	Do	Power	route
29.	GIPCL	09-03-2000	Mangrol-Valia	Do	Power	

* Mining Completed.