Coal India Limited (CIL) and its subsidiaries

                    The Coking Coal Mines (Emergency Provisions) Ordinance was promulgated by the Government of India on 16.10.1971 under which except the captive mines of TISCO and IISCO, the management of all coking coal mines was taken over by the Government. A new company called Bharat Coking Coal Limited was formed as a subsidiary company of Steel Authority of India  Limited to manage the taken over mines. These mines were subsequently nationalised w.e.f. 1.5.1972. Later on  the management of 711 coal mines was also taken over by the Government with effect from  31.1.1973 and they were nationalised w.e.f. 1.5.1973 and a new Government Company namely, Coal Mines Authority Limited (CMAL) with headquarters at Calcutta, was set up by the  Government in May, 1973 to manage non-coking coal mines. The CMAL was organised as a unitary structure on divisional pattern with four Divisions, the Central Division, the Eastern Division, the Western Division and the CMPDIL. The mines of erstwhile National Coal Development Corporation were brought under the Central Division of the CMAL. In September, 1975 CIL was formed as a Holding Company with five subsidiaries namely Bharat Coking Coal Limited (BCCL), Central Coalfields Limited (CCL ), Eastern Coalfields Limited ( ECL ), Western Coalfields Limited ( WCL ) and Central Mine Planning and Design Institute Limited ( CMPDIL ).

In view of the projected increase in production and investment contemplated for CCL and WCL group of coal mines and in view of their extensive geographical spread resulting in day to day administrative, technical and communication  problems etc. two more coal companies, namely, Northern Coalfields Limited and South Eastern Coalfields Limited were formed w.e.f. 28.11.1985.

            Considering the prospects of Orissa Coalfields, being the growth centre for the VIII and IX Plan periods, a new coal company was formed bifurcating South Eastern Coalfields Limited (SECL). The new company Mahanadi Coalfields Limited was incorporated on 3rd April, 1992 with its headquarters at Sambalpur ( Orissa ) as fully owned subsidiary of Coal India Limited to manage the Talcher and IB-Valley Coalfields in Orissa.

            CIL have now 8 subsidiaries viz. Bharat Coking Coal Limited (BCCL), Central Coalfields Limited (CCL), Eastern Coalfields Limited (ECL), Western Coalfields Limited (WCL), South Eastern Coalfields Limited (SECL), Northern Coalfields Limited (NCL), Mahanadi Coalfields Limited (MCL) and Central Mine Planning and Design Institute Limited (CMPDIL). The CMPDIL is an engineering, design and exploration company set up for preparing perspective plan(s), rendering consultancy services and undertaking exploration and drilling work to establish coal reserves in the country and collection of detailed data for preparation of projects for actual mining. The other seven subsidiaries of CIL are coal producing companies.

            CIL and its  subsidiaries are incorporated under the Companies Act, 1956 and are wholly owned by the Central Government. The coal mines in Assam and its neighbouring areas are controlled directly by CIL under the unit North Eastern Coalfields.

Back | Top